Skip to product information
1 of 1
Chronicle Books

Over and Under the Canyon

Over and Under the Canyon

Add To Wishlist
Regular price $ 18.99 USD
Regular price $ 18.99 USD Sale price $ 18.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Low stock

In this latest book in the acclaimed Over and Under series, a spectacular hike reveals the hidden wonders, rich colors, and layers of wildlife living within a thriving desert slot-canyon. 

Over and Under the Canyon takes young readers on a thrilling tour of a desert canyon ecosystem. Over the canyon, the sun scalds the air, baking desert mud to stone. But under the shade of the cliffs hides another world, where bighorn sheep bound from rock to rock on the hillside, roadrunners make their nests in sturdy cacti, and banded geckos tuck themselves into the shelter of the sand. Discover the wonders concealed in the curves of the canyon, the magic of a desert wildflower bloom, and all the unexpected creatures that bring the desert to life.

DISCOVER AMAZING ANIMALS: Kids are endlessly curious about the natural world and the wildly varied animals living in it—and the desert is FULL of amazing and surprising animals!

CAPTIVATING NONFICTION: Like its predecessors, this latest offering in the Over and Under picture book series illuminates the magic of the natural world and its amazing inhabitants by telling the story of one family's hike through a real-world desert ecosystem in lyrical prose and color-drenched illustrations. Even the most reluctant readers will be drawn into a fact-filled story this compelling!

GREAT FOR TEACHING: The Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) emphasize learning about animal habitats/biomes in K–2 curriculums, while later grades address topics like food chains, conservation, and endangered species. With a depth of research and an engaging, highly visual narrative, this book is an excellent resource for librarians and primary school educators.

ENCOURAGES ENVIRONMENTAL AWARENESS: Concern for and preservation of the wilderness is an increasingly talked-about topic. This book provides a great, upbeat jumping-off point for discussions of the importance and wonder of our world’s natural habitats and ecosystems.

ACCLAIMED AUTHOR-ILLUSTRATOR TEAM: Kate Messner is an award-winning author whose books for kids have been New York Times Notable, Junior Library Guild, IndieBound, and Bank Street College of Education Best Book selections. In addition to his work on this acclaimed series, Christopher Silas Neal is an award-winning illustrator and author who regularly contributes to the New York Times and The New Yorker, and he has been awarded a medal from the Society of Illustrators.

Perfect for:

• Parents
• Nature lovers
• Fans of Kate Messner
• Fans of Over and Under the Snow and previous books in the series
• Educators and librarians seeking nonfiction books with STEM content

56 Pages

Age Range: 5-8 Years


Shipping Information

We typically ship out within 1-2 business days.

Free Shipping on US orders of $75 or above (Subtotal) qualify for free shipping (we will cover the cost to ship your order). APO and AP addresses are included in free shipping. 

NO FORWARDING ADDRESSES ARE ALLOWED, ORDERS WILL BE CANCELLED

PLEASE NOTE: Use of a coupon code may bring your order under the $75 subtotal and will be charged shipping.

Some Oversize items may not be included in the Free Shipping within the USA

PLEASE NOTE: PRESALE ITEMS ordered with in stock items will not ship until the full order is in stock. Please order in stock items in a separate order.

We are not responsible for packages that are confirmed delivered or stolen. Please make sure you have your order delivered to a safe address or an address that you know your package will be get delivered safely. 


International Shipping: is currently Not Available

View full details